Seminary Governance

The overall structure of governance and administration in seminaries of the Catholic Church is specified in the Code of Canon Law and in the Program of Priestly Formation. Agencies that provide academic accreditation also issue requirements for governance. In compliance with these expectations, the governance of Mount Angel Seminary comprises the following major offices and bodies.

The role of the Chancellor is to ensure that the seminary operates in accord with the mind of the Church. He appoints the President-Rector and is chairman of the Board of Directors and of the Board of Members.
The Right Reverend Jeremy Driscoll, O.S.B., Abbot of Mount Angel Abbey

The President-Rector cares for the daily supervision of the entire seminary.
Reverend Monsignor Joseph Betschart of the Archdiocese of Portland in Oregon

Vice Rector
The Vice Rector assists the President-Rector as delegated and oversees the discipline of the student body.
Reverend Terrence Tompkins

Department Directors for the Pillars of Formation
The department directors oversee the operation of the four major dimensions of the seminary program.

Director of Pastoral Formation: Reverend Peter Arteaga, M.Sp.S.
Director of Spiritual Formation: Reverend William Dillard
Director of Human Formation and Vice President of Administration: Reverend Stephen Clovis
Director of Intellectual Formation and Vice President of Academics: Dr. Shawn Keough

Episcopal Council
The membership of the Episcopal Council consists of the bishops, superiors and vocation directors of the dioceses and religious orders served by the seminary. It serves as a consultative body for the Chancellor and the President-Rector regarding matters of priestly formation and the training of seminarians.

Board of Directors
The membership of the Board of Directors consists of the Chancellor, the Archbishop of Portland, several monks of Mount Angel Abbey, and several lay members. The board oversees the welfare, mission and growth of the seminary, reviewing and approving such areas as the institutional mission, the appointment of major officials, the evaluation of officials, new programs, and the annual budget.

Board of Members
The membership of the Board of Members consists of monks of Mount Angel Abbey. The board exercises oversight of the governance and mission of the seminary, with the power to ratify changes to the institutional mission, the annual budget, the membership of the Board of Directors, etc.