2009 Mass of Candidacy

On the 22nd of October, in the year of Our Lord 2009, Mount Angel Abbey and Seminary celebrated its Annual Candidacy Mass. The Candidacy Mass is when Seminarians in their third year of Theology formally declare their intent to continue on towards the Transitional Diaconate and eventually the Priesthood. In attendance this year were Bishops from the Dioceses of Honolulu, Sacramento, Yakima and Seattle. The Mass was celebrated by Archbishop John Vlazny of the Archdiocese of Portland. Many of the seminarians participated in the Mass by singing in the choir that was led by Sister Teresa Gould. Manolito Jaldon Jr, Archdiocese of San Francisco, accompanied the choir on organ.

The following seminarians are those that declared their intent to continue on to Priesthood: Charles Leonard, Archdiocese of Seattle; Justus Alaeto, Mark Gikenyi, Angelo Te, Archdiocese of Portland; Matthew Ramsay, Diocese of Saskatoon; Jason Hiner, Diocese of Spokane; David Severson, Diocese of Helena; Faitau Lemautu, Diocese of Samoa Pago Pago.

An enthusiastic choir preparing to sing their hearts out for not only Sister but the Bishops and their peers that are present.

Archbishop John Vlazny leads a concluding prayer at the end of Mass and sharing words of encouragement for the entire Seminary Community. He is flanked by Deacon Ysrael Bien of the Archdiocese of Portland as well as Deacon Adam Toros of the Diocese of Debrecen-Nyiregyhaza in Hungary.

Pictured are the Candidates, Bishops, as well as the Prior-Adminstrator of the Abbey and the Preseident Rector of the Seminary. From left to right, Front Row: Very Rev. Richard Papperini, President Rector; Carlos Serrano Lopez, Faitau Lemautu, Mark Gikenyi, Angelo Te, Matthew Ramsay, Charles Leonard, Justus Alaeto, David Severson, Jason Hiner, Prior Administrator Gregory Duerr. Back Row: Deacon Ysrael Bien, Bishop Jaime Soto of the Diocese of Sacramento, Archbishop Alexander Brunett of the Archdiocese of Seattle, Archbishop John Vlazny of the Archdiocese of Portland, Bishop Carlos Sevilla of the Diocese of Yakima, Bishop Clarence Silva of the Diocese of Honolulu, Deacon Adam Toros.